top of page

Soooo...How did your first show go??


My display with backdrop

It was a learning experience. I sold 3 message bracelets for a grand total of $22. I thought the fair would be mostly crafters, but it ended up being mostly a flea market. The veteran jewelry crafters I've consulted have advised me that handcrafted jewelry sells better at craft shows where customers come looking for handcrafted goods than at flea markets, so I'm not surprised at the low sales. However, I was encouraged by this sale. First, most people who entered my booth commented on how beautiful the jewelry was. That reassured me that my style is something people like. Second, I met a fellow jeweler who gave me some advice for where to get supplies at a good price and continues to send me leads to good shows where I can sell later this year. Craft shows are excellent networking opportunities and crafters are generous people, so I am thankful that I had this opportunity!

Display with yucca plant tied to the display frame

I also learned that I need to brace my display against even the smallest breeze! As you can see in the photo, my backdrop consists of two 30"x40" paintings and a bulletin board. They are rigid, flat surfaces that blow over easily. They blew over at least half a dozen times, even after I tied the tops of the paintings to my canopy frame! I also have a yucca plant and a framed picture as part of my display, which got blown over multiple times, finally resulting in the yucca plant being lowered from its riser and being tied to the display rack for support. I couldn't keep everything standing until I got two tarps from my truck and hung them up as sidewalls. I will have a wind curtain on my canopy at my next outdoor show.

I am turning in my registration this week to sell with the crafters at Parmenter's Cider Mill in Northville, Michigan, in October. I will post the dates as soon as they are confirmed. I hope to see you there! Hopefully, I will keep my full display standing!

bottom of page